‘I love technology!’ | Google, Today & The Future

Much like other members in the Millennial group, technology is a matter that comes to me fairly easy, for the most part. But I cannot deny, it is constantly fascinating me. People around me are probably sick of hearing me yell, “I love technology!”

But I really do.

What most people probably do not know is how obsessed I am with Google and their genius. I believe they call us “Google children.” I cannot lie, I was melting a couple of weeks ago while sitting at Google NY listening to one of their lead execs speak.

Phew! Sweating thinking about it. Or perhaps is this ungodly Florida heat.

Anyway, I wanted to share this small event that happened today right after I set up my GMAIL Talk. (Yes, I am aware of SKYPE, I just never got into it.) But with this, all I had to do was download the software (30 seconds) and BOOM I have free telephone calls while sitting in my new office. (My wife turned our son’s room into an office. How exciting!)

So here is what happened:

Minutes after I set up my GMAIL Talk, I called my brother (another ‘Google child’) on his cell phone from GMAIL and talked to him for about 15 minutes. Right after I hung up, my dad messaged me on Facebook asking me to call my step mom because his phone does not work in the Dominican Republic. I called her from my computer, she did not answer–as usual–so I called my brother back through GMAIL. He then tells my step mom to get on Facebook so my dad could talk to her.

If this is not the future, I do not know what is!

I was listening to NPR on my drive back from school, and even though I was impressed, I was not shocked about the news coming from Google’s GMAIL Talk. But after experiencing where we are in this age, it hit me really hard. I feel like I am at the end of the AT&T globe at Epcot Center in Walt Disney World. It is brilliant insanity!

I am closing this post with a funny story.

While I was talking to my brother, my son came into the room. As usual, I tell him, “Say hello to your ‘o,’ Li.” My brother says hello to my son, my son looks at the computer absolutely freaked, leaves the room and says, “I don’t talk to him like that!”

It is funny and interesting to think that one day this will be the norm for him and his generation.

Stay close, stay connected, stay balanced.
~A~

One thought on “‘I love technology!’ | Google, Today & The Future

Leave a Reply

